Many things Touch Many people in Many ways…i wish Cancer would just move a stage further away from me

The ” C ” word, the  “oh no he/she hasn’t got IT Have they ”  so many other expressions  that people use  when Cancer first hits them in their life  and affects either them, or some one  that they Know .

I make no apology for the number of links in this post or the lack of Pretty pictures , There are a lot of things I want to draw attention to, Its Not easy as I’m not going to name the people that have  been affected by this. That wouldn’t be right , I will send them a link out, they can do with it what they will.

I consider myself to  be  a generally lucky sort of fella, I personally  ( to date ) have not had to deal with ” the big C ”  in my own Direct Family. But as any one who knows “oldmanleslie” will be aware, I lost  an uncle to cancer  who was one of the nicest  men, in fact   the nicest Gentleman you could hope to meet.

I lost a very dear friend of mine & the family who was taken far too early , and I now have a friend of the family  recently Diagnosed. I have seen the effect on my Folks  when their friends have gone. Basically I think that cancer , There, i used the word…. cancer,cancer,cancer,cancer,cancer absolutely Sucks, it wrecks lives and leaves a very hard to shift slice in  peoples lives.

So any chance to do something  that  raises awareness,funds,and may possibly  reduce the chance of even 1 person having to go  through the ringer has top be a good thing. And this is where the parts of my life all came together  and resulted in me Blogging about an amazing Charity  that needs awareness. I drum with Celebrationsamba we are based in Worthing on the south coast of the UK . we are a few years old and  we are growing in presence, Numbers and  where we perform. We are on the up. How easy a cVoluntary Action Worthinghoice was it  when we were asked to play at a local event  for cancerwise ..
Obviously  a “NO Charge ” gig that we hope be asked to play each year.

So why blog about a gig……….. because i have never seen so many people in one place  all  there for the same reason , having a quintessentially English  Fair , on st Georges day, with the Homesun shining, by the sea. Having a cuppa & a cake  and  chatting to friends. A great day, not super dynamic, Not internationally attended by ” A ” listers . but a brilliant day , raising awareness and Money for a great cause, I’m not asking you to donate, you can do that here if you want

I wont link out  to a friends “event ” that she is doing in memory of a dear friend of ours ”  I would just leave you with the thought  that if some one asks you  to step up and help them ” for charity” there is so much more that you can do than put pennies in a pot.

And yes, for those that know,  i hope  our old mate was up there some where  having a chuckle at me hitting all the wrong  steps trying to dance

 

 

 

 

