Cone heads ice cream parlour ,Oneida ,NY state What a great parlour

 

There must be many many ice cream shops in America and I cannot comment on any of the others however on a holiday to Oneida in New York State we found as a family that the Coneheads Ice cream parlour was absolutely amazing.

Such a massive choice of ice cream syrups flavours toppings 13939510_1245791212099929_4267746970544629106_nand otherwise in any combination that you wanted as ice cream or indeed as a milkshake and to top it all off the pricing was pretty good as well

Well worth a visit if you are in this part of the world

The lady that served us was really helpful, even my son’s amazing choice when we told him could have what he wanted wasn’t a problem

I only wish we had discovered the place little earlier, we would have been back. If you want to get in contact then there are all the usual methods. Just tell them where you saw the review  and ask the lady how the Caribbean trip fund is  going

13906761_1245791248766592_1307422302637638644_n

All the usual social media contacts

Just for the record, I have not been paid for this blog, it’s just that I believe if a place or business offers good service then you tell people  about it

 

Advertisements

Gallery Restaurant & Tea Rooms – Littlehampton ( There are better alternatives )

We popped into this restaurant for a bit of lunch today, Its right in the middle of all the Harbour park development in Littlehampton  ( west Sussex ) . Just a briefIMG_20160605_125140460[2] review…so here goes

Dirty Cutlery that we had to clean,No means of anyone with a wheelchair actually having a card terminal brought out to them to pay,so in this instance “the real oldmanleslie  had a freebie ” No one bringing cutlery out to you, the waiter staff behind the counter ” threw/ dropped ” the bottles of drink on a tray. and for a restaurant on the seafront serving predominantly fish, NO Tartar Sauce available. The fish was OK and enough of it.

2@scampi& chips, 1@cod & chips with 3 soft drinks £29….so not exactly “cafe ” prices

My recommendation , if its fish you want , then for take away, it has to be Freds of littlehampton and if its a restaurant then always the fish factory . both of which i have used previously and can recommend.

So what do you do , when you have had the Best of something in the world ……..?

Well. the TV   & media are telling us that  Autumn is here. all the stores  are selling Christmas goods already. and  Halloween is just around the corner….

So time to look back on a summer that was pretty good for  the oldmanleslie  clan.  And leaves us with only 2 problems

When  I run a blog that started off as ” the sneaky latte” and was supposed to give  a guide where to get the best  & avoid the worst. What can I do now I have had many trips to what was the BEST COFFEE SHOP IN THE WOIMAG0783RLD  in my opinion

IMAG0775I guess everything  else will have to compare to it. Just for the record This place I mention, will respond to the ” please make me a nice cup of coffee” challenge that  most places  wont do ,  the response was to  give me   a peach latte so smooth that the peach is  at the bottom, un mixed  so I could  do it just as I wanted.

And then  when I asked for a drink to cool me down, not knowing that there was Iced latte available, I was so very surprised to see that out came the best IMAG0784vanilla iced latte I have ever had, with   just the right amount  of  pure hand-made vanilla ice cream in it, the perfect summer drink  .

So there in lies the problem,  I have now had the best coffee in the world,  many times, so I know its consistent, served excellently  and I know everything else will be second best now.

 

The second problem is  along the same lines.  When as a family you have had the privilege of  going to one of the best worlds best hotels ( acknowledged by some as the best  ) and had a peek at the sort of service that other places can only aspire to. What do you do to avoid disappointment  by comparison in  future

Just for the record, the hotel in question for the coffee  was    and it was the staff in the restaurant  IMPERIUM  that made meal time so  special and something to look forward to

 

My only other comment / picture as if it were needed is of what i consider to be the best hotel in the world, based on our experience as a family. the  staff can’t do enough  for you , there is an air of confidence in the place , and  every aspect of the time we had there was perfect  and without improvementIMAG0720

 

In answer to the title of the blog, simple …..work hard, save pennies and take the next generation of “oldmanLeslie’s if & when they arrive into the world ……that should give me a few years to look forward to it.

Continue reading

“What a real ” WOW ” of a place, with just the right amount of ” just what was needed “”

What an excellent place for a family meal, we went to celebrate a bit of an occasion for us . the Buffet was excellent
, the food was fresh, presented beautifully . Drinks were a little expensive, but not too overpriced in my opinion ( remember this is Dubai and it’s just not the same as the UK or Europe ) . the rose for my wife was a pleasant surprise , as was the very tasty gift .At the Burj

Our youngest son wasn’t charged for his ” drink of choice ” at all.

 

I accept that  normally  now  you have to pay a lot for good service, well at the burj,  I can say that i don’t think i paid anything like the level of excellent service  we received

A very special thank you to” Mohit ” as he prepared a dish especially for my son. Yes, the main chef in a world-class restaurant took and 8-year-old child ” fully a la carte ”  this really made an impression on my son 

also to

“Ivan”, one of the senior management team. who was kind enough to take time out of his day to come and talk to us. and arranged a personal tour of the hotel,

and also to

the waiter  who went way beyond the call of duty  and ” played ” with my son  out on the beach in the evening as my son said it was a little cold in the restaurant.

The staff even  managed to explain WHY  this is a 7  star hotel

The staff in the restaurant and the hotel have an obvious pride in what they do , and it shows. Even the  things inside the hotel are worth a few minutes to watch

It is so very easy to see why this restaurant should well be one of the best in the world

Located  on the  Ground floor, Burj Al Arab | PO Box 74147, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

Thank you to Ivan and his team 

 

+971 4 301 7600
Website
E-mail

So its the simple ideas that are often the best

On a recent great holiday to Dubai with the family, whilst sat on a beach, on the palm, in near 50C heat. i was  pleased to see that the Hotel  Give out free water and ice lollies to their guests during the day.  I guess it’s just one of those things that is a ” nice touch ” and   for this i say well done jumeriah.

The downside to a major hotel giving out bottles of water , all iced and cold in branded bags and nice for the guests is that there is a lot of Bottles left  that have to go to recycling.  So  Why should i choose  to blog about rubbish , well anyone that  knows me will know  of the company i work for  ” Tempcon” and through them i got to hear  about  the  WFAA. The link will tell you what they do , basically  my ” knowing of them ” has changed the way i think about waste

so lets cut through this, My  Idea was  to  simply condense  the bottles down before sending to recycling, there by optimising the space required, reducing the number of vehicles needed to move the bottles and  save fuel etc etc etc.

So My thanks go to the team  at the JUMEIRAH ZABEEIsaac LwakiL SARAY hotel  firstly  for giving me time with their managers to explain  the idea to them and for putting me in contact with   this man ( I wont name him  as it wouldn’t be fair  to him to directly), I’m sure that Jumeriah will do something good with Any money that they save as an international chain of hotels. As its part of their Green Globe  accreditation   . Also a big thank you for the things that the Hotel arranged for us as a gift.  My photo doesn’t do the suggestion any favours really but I hope you can see what was suggested .

 

It’s Just Nice to see that  a truly global brand will listen to a customer, will take feedback , and will also  act on it  quickly and effectively, I will be feeding this back to the managers  that I dealt with directly

Well done  Jumeriah 

 

 

 

what a great part , of a great holiday

Clan ” oldmanleslie” like to have time away as a family, and whilst the boys still appreciate it  and seem to enjoy it , it does get harder to find something that we can all do together. This is because there is  an 8 year gap  between ” the boys ”

This year , for a  cheap holiday  in august, we decided to go back to Dubai . we  have been before , we know what to expect. we stayed at the  “Zabeel Saray ” …there are other blogs  here about the holiday .

 

The one is specifically about  ” the spa ” as i think its worth shouting about.

Usually a spa is a bout  ” me time ” for relaxing , however in the case of the that’s not strictly true, it was ” me time ” for me and my  Number 01 son. who was old enough to come in with me we were staying at he Jumeriah Zabeel saray.We discovered that the spa was actually part of the hotel, it was excellent. The facilities here are excellent, there are just the perfect amount of staff to be helpful yet not intrusive . all the usual pools, relaxations, steam. saunas etc etc. and then for us, the best feature. a snow room for use after a sauna.

No fee for hotels guests for the main facilities and it seemed to be open every time we wanted it

separate facilities for males / females of course, so i cant comment on the ladies facilities

We found that the spa was just right as an escape from the august sunshine, and also a perfect way to relax a little after a hard day touring the beautiful city of Dubai. and provided  all we needed for a great bit of ” father son Bonding ”

 

Please excuse using ” web photos” obviously no cameras allowed  in the spa  & i have listed this in freebies-that-i-have-found as its complementary  for hotel guests

first one of the Holidays…in future i will take pictures

image

its the weekend, and its sunny, and its the school hols. so why not. suddenly realising that KFC portions are getting smaller  if you don’t ” go large” and they are candidates for the  ” nice enough tasting, but looks nothing like the picture ” 1st prize

 

I looked at the picture  of what i thought i was getting,  and realised  when my food came out , one main reason why Bloggers  take pictures of their food. What i got was nothing at all like the picture.

Over the summer holidays we are  going to be in a few different places so i guess we will get to see  if  its just a local thing to the Bognor Regis drive through  ” near halfords ” that should be avoided  if you are here on holidays 

 

NO ONE PART OF MY FOOD LOOKED LIKE THE WWW SHOWS

Fish Finger Sarnies & a root beer float …….So this ones an important Blog for me, Where to spend the hard earned Pennies

Don’t worry, oldmanleslie isn’t about to go and get  all serious, well not overnight any way. For the first time in my blog, there is conflict ., ( shock horror )

I’m based in  west Sussex, and this time  of year, we are blessed with a lot of sunshine, so days out , at the shops, on the beach, an evening stroll along an almost deserted prom ,
and yes that really is our local prom and the sunsets are that good

and at the end of the prom you find

The Lobster pot.

There are many reasons to go here  on a sunny day in summer, or for a refreshing  autumn stroll. And i have blogged  about it before 

One reason to go is the Amazing Fish Finger Sandwiches, that they do. I suppose i am ” not very wellinformedoldmanleslie” but i didn’t know you could get these…. so to find them on my doorstep was  a bit of a coup

Putting the Lobster-pot  aside for a moment, I was keen to  see what the good people at sparks yard had done to improve their offering  in Arundel. Now i know some bloggers only review freebies, well that’s not the way it works with “oldmanleslie”  its nice to get freebies of course, however  why should business  have to fork out for  opinions…..Any how  Back to the loft

Mrs Oldmanleslie and I Parked ” down by the river ” in Arundel, and had a nice stroll   along the banks of the river , up through  Arundel. avoiding the  multiple coach loads of students & visitors to the castle…. and there it was, clearly visible  from the end of Tarrant street

so now the facts, Easy access to the shop , although parking in Arundel needs looking at . easy  wheelchair access to all floors of the shop  and restaurant  via their own lift,  Always  clean inside.  loftWell refurbished  top floor restaurant that we tried to just pop into. we were soon asked if ” are you Chris ”  and shown to the reserved Table  by the window that they had ” reserved for us ”  I have to say Mrsoldmanleslie liked that ”  We were served well,  quickly but not  invasively . and  we were left to order our food. After a nice chat with what turned out to be one of the owners

 

” stop, Hammer time “

for the  first time as a blogger  i should have taken a picture of something i was about to consume , ( I didn’t )  so you will have to believe me that £2.50 for a drink  was the best value in a long time. Imported root beer that you can buy in the shop , used to make an ice cream float, with a curly straw, now that’s the taste of childhood .

A quick look down the menu for food, and there it was. The fish finger sandwich….. so apologies to Andrew and the team, I’m sure that everything else on the menu was fine, and maybe we will  be back soon to try it, however that’s a favourite with all us Leslie’s, so  there in lies the dilemma

Go for what you know, and now have a choice of venues that both serve excellent  food, or risk going off “Piste ” and getting something you don’t like ?

We are going to have to go back and find out i guess, it certainly wont be a hard choice and when a place is just that little bit too far away  to walk to, it makes it all the more special to be well looked after  by them.

So I can’t take credit for the images ( taken from the www)   and i cant  take credit for the effect on the waistline ( that’s  your responsibility
however Either way, if you are in west Sussex for holidays and looking . Just remember 
On the beach in Felpham = The lobster-pot
Shopping and  touristy things in Arundel  = Sparks yard  / The loft 
Either way ” the fish finger sandwiches are excellent,” and the root beer  just seals the decision  for me 

Pagham Beach Update

It seems as if the weather is not  easing .

An update on my earlier blog 

Pagham beach closed after sea defences were breached

A beach has been cordoned off after strong tides breached recently completed sea defences.

Solent Coastguard said flood defences at Pagham beach had been breached and part of the shingle bank washed away.

People have been urged to keep away from the area which is very dangerous, a spokesman said.

Arun council was responsible for the sea defence which was completed in December

Large areas of the shingle bank and large boulders, which all formed part of the flood defence scheme, have been washed away over the past week in the poor weather.

For little boys & girls all over the world What a great Idea for an unusual Christmas present ….and you MAY see Santa

 What a great idea for Kids & possibly get to see Santa for free

 

Make sure to watch Reindeer Cam on December 18th, and 23rd at 1:00 PM ET. You just might catch a glimpse of Santa coming to feed his loyal reindeer crew.Animal Planet FREE Live Reindeer Cam

 

 

 

http://www.apl.tv/reindeer.htm

 

 

When they aren’t busy pulling Santa’s sleigh, these reindeer call the Como Park Zoo and Conservatory in Saint Paul, Minnesota home.

A stachue of santa claus

Sponsoring Como’s reindeer makes a great gift! Visit ComoFriends.com for sponsorship package information.
Get ready for Animal Planet’s Holiday Best Fest, starting December 16th!

 

 

 

A heads up is never a bad thing

Mobile speed camera locations in Sussex:

December 2013

Exact dates would be nice  i guess ……..

I suppose if you see this and it makes enough people slow down and it saves one accident it is worth it, But i cant get around the fact that  it is some kind of revenue generator….

Safe motoring Boys and girls, Dont drink and drive,

And help give everyone else a Happy & safe  Christmas

Mobile speed camera

Mobile speed camera

And once again, this place did Not Disappoint, Has to be one of the best hotels in Wigan

I refer back at the start of this review to my earlier one  when i went to  this hotel as a “ lucky find ” and was pleased with the results.

This time , i based my days  business around this area. 

So How could  http://www.ashfieldhousehotel.co.uk/index.html  get any better

This time  the  hotel  gave me what they called a better room, there had been nothing wrong at all with 406, this time i Got  403. Only issue with the room, It was almost TOO bigImageImage for  just me . The rate i got was excellent and included a continental breakfast that was lovely.

As per my previous Blog, there was  no chef on site this particular night so, i had contented myself to a few beers  and a crisp based evening meal, Well all i can say is that the  hotel excelled its self by providing Menus for me . ironically they had a take away  menu for  the place i had used last time  and enjoyed     so  this really was a no Brainer,  I had to pay upfront, but  i kind of knew that what i had ordered would be good, i wasn’t disappointed. Especially when the hotel went and got it for me

so very briefly , The hotel was  excellent , the staff were very helpful, the  staff for breakfast were brilliant, and the grounds that the hotel is in is lovely

The restaurant lamamas is an absolute gem of a place, their service in the restaurant was brilliant, and the food  on take away wasn’t too  shabby either

I would recommend both of these places to any one and look forward to going back to the   Ashfield house some time soon

Update , this place is so nice, they even took the time to respond , How nice is that , I will definitely be back

Hi Chris,

Thank you for your email. I have just read through your reviews, its very nice to hear when guests have enjoyed their stay with us being in Standish. We always appreciate feedback both positive and negative so thank you for taking the time to do this. We had plenty people turn up for the wedding open evening so hopefully they liked the look of the venue and what we have to offer. Im glad to hear you’ve enjoyed La Mamas too, hopefully if you return we will have some food available for you to potentially try our menu.

If we don’t see you before, have a great Christmas and hope to see you in the new year.

Kind Regards

Just to increase awareness really, ‘cos its all about the sharing

English: Littlehampton lighthouse

English: Littlehampton lighthouse (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Littlehampton

Littlehampton (Photo credit: James.Stringer)

I’m guessing that those of you that know about this already will know how supportive this network is. I Volunteer  when I can for  the local branch of  the shop mobility network. The office is in Littlehampton and it  provides the local network with all sorts of services and aids for people who need ” a little bit of help”

Doesn’t matter if it’s just a small strap to help  you not to forget your walking stick, to a wheelchair that you need a short term for a relative that is coming to see you.

We offer a full range of devices that can help  with they things that you have to do on a day-to-day basis.

If you have a friend or relation whose needs have changed and as a result you have devices that are no longer needed, then we  may be able ” broker ” a sale for you.

Any how, that’s enough about the shop, come to see  us

Littlehampton 4

Littlehampton 4 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

You Know Christmas is just around the corner when……

Some people wait for the first christmas carol on the radio, some look for the coca cola truck… one of my Faves for this time of year ( and its not even meant to be festive ) is this one…..

How clever are turkeys ?

 

What a great Place to shop,

so you may have seen my ” Glasto ” Blog, what a brilliant day we had there, something absolutely amazing to see and something that we will do again I’m sure .

Its not often that you walk into a shop when you are just Mooching and  spend a long time in there, its even less likely that you will actually go back to a store. But this  place i found ticked all the boxes. Image

Really unusual ( to me any way ) things, Clothes, figures, hats, things for mums, dads, and  just about everyone.

It turned out the lady i spoke to was the manager. What a really nice lady she was too.

I wish i could have bought her Monkies, or budgies / parrots on the day, they looked brilliant and i wish i had not resisted, Who knows, when i am back next year, if they are still there Image

Any way , well worth a visit and in my opinion, it has more ” glastonbury ” in it than any other ” glastonbury ” shop

I guess the obvious way to see what they do is  https://www.facebook.com/lilithofavalonltd?fref=ts

 

What a brilliant Family Night out & free of charge as well

I had the pleasure of being invited to  Glastonbury this year for Free, i was told about the event by the good people who head up celebration samba …. Now I know that everyone will think  of the Massive music festival, but any one who know me  knows I ” aint  the biggest fan of live music ” so that’s unlikely What I didn’t know is that every year in that part of the world there is a whole series  of Illuminated Processions  that tour the area and  on the last night of the season they get together for a competition  and  ” Tour ” around Glastonbury . It’s a free event, all we had to pay was £3.something for a whole days parking in the town The floats are Amazing 

Glastonbury Carnival 2011 - Jungle dancers

)

And  as they come past, the heat, Noise and general excitement is Brilliant, Obviously  this has all been caught on you tube , http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f1OoMm8iZms  but when you are there its a brilliant low-cost day out for  the whole family. my personal favourite was http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jBXRa6RE5XQ Take a picnic and you wont even have to spend in the shops and restaurants.Although some of these are excellent and not too pricey

One special mention for  http://www.lilithofavalon.com/  which is a shop i certainly hadn’t seen the like of before, it was fascinating . and i would recommend a look in there if you go ” down Glastonbury way “

The homepage for the carnival is http://glastonburycarnival.com/ and I am sure I will be there next year … hope to see you And just for the record , I’m not part of the committee, or have anything to do with the shop, I’m just sharing what was a brilliant day out

 

Do you want to have  the best looking Pumpkin on Halloween this year , Be the best  on the street.

 

English: A freh pumpkin ready for carving for ...

English: A freh pumpkin ready for carving for Halloween or celebrating Thanksgiving. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

Here is  a little freebie i found that is Absolutely great for the kids  and they have just added loads of new stencils to download.

http://www.pumpkinpile.com/

There is a real range to choose from, and it even tells you how hard each one is to carve. Great fun with the kids, and even more challenging ones for the adults.

Of course you will want to ensure that children are  supervised when cutting any thing that involves sharp knives or scissors

Happy Halloween  everyone

example stencils can be found at

http://www.pumpkinpile.com/content/patterns/cartoons/Elmo_2.pdf  and once you have opened them  you can save your pumpkin pattern to your desktop, or open it. Once you have it opened in a PDF reader, print it off, and get carving!

 

 

I almost forgot this one , great for Family Holidays

One that just came back to my mind  that you might want to know about, Could be a bit late  in the season for this year, but for 2014 im sure the people at  http://www.landcruise.uk.com/ would love to hear from you

English: A Motorhome

English: A Motorhome (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

These Guys are based in Chichester in west Sussex and they hire out Very good quality Mobile homes, We have used them  twice for trips and have absolutely No  problem in recommending them to any one. We Have used generally  larger vehicles so that we have not had the hassle of making up beds  each day . There are 4 of us and we like our space.

The homes all come with just about everything you need for the trip, all you need to cover is the cost of fuel , food, fun, fizzy pop, and your entertainment .

On one of our trips we went from the south coast to Scotland for 3 days, stopped pretty much  where we wanted to en route, we went to Blackpool, York and  to see some old friends in the north-east.

These  units work out to be not too expensive in my opinion for what you  get and as we found you can have a real adventure hiring one for  a week

They can be taken  overseas if you arrange this  with the team before you take the unit away

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=ryc4BBvGhNk will show you a short vid

Take your motorhome into the hills

the choice of vehicles  http://www.landcruise.uk.com/motorhomes/

Special last-minute offers that may be gone by the time you look  http://www.landcruise.uk.com/special-offers/

Direct information from their www

Motorhome fleet

Our fleet of motorhomes (some people call them campervans) ensure that you have a safe and comfortable trip. We have eight different layouts ranging from 2 to 6 berths and from budget to VIP. Not sure which motorhome to hire? Have a look at our guide to choosing the right motorhome for you.  We also specialise in dog-friendly motorhome hire.

Motorhome Sales

Later this year we will be selling some of our ex hire fleet. For further details please email info@landcruise.uk.com or phone 01243 380000.

What it costs?

The cheapest 2 berth costs between £360 in winter and £720 in summer. A typical family 4-6 berth motorhome costs between £425 to £925. For further information, see our hire prices. In addition to the hire tariff, you should allow for:

  • £5 – £7 per day for second driver insurance
  • £2.50 per day if you have 3 points on your licence
  • The insurance excess is £750 with an option to reduce to £0 if you take out Collision Damage Waiver
  • £1 per day for propane gas
  • From £100 per week if you wish to travel to mainland Europe

We do not charge for taking credit card payments or have any other administration charges.

What a waffle…..

image

and the Coconut Cappuccino  that came with it went down really well. 

Thanks to the girls and boys at  http://thelondonroadcoffeeshop.co.uk/  Best Waffle i have had in a long time,  Service was excellent , even  though the place was very busy.  If you  are ever down in sunny bognor regis for a day  or a holiday . definitely worth a visit

There are other places in the town that can serve  coffee, and waffles, but as someone that has tried most of them. This place gets it ” hands down ” as one of the best , and Not badly priced 

Just for the record , I  was not paid for  this blog, its just when a place is this good, its best to tell people

 

If you find a good site that does as it says, Tell people all about it 

I just wanted to post about  a website that I have used now 3 times to book a holiday on. It’s all web-based , like so many sites now, but it has an edge. There is a voice at the end of a phone who will listen to what you say, and will actually tailor what you ask for. The site is  http://www.rentvillas.com/  and the site does exactly what you would think. at the moment for people in the UK it has a great PLUS POINT  that you pay in  US Dollars. The villas that we have used have  all been what i consider to be a high standard. and the company is easy to deal with . I haven’t linked to any specific accommodation on the site as i don’t want to influence  any choices. I would definitely use them again

rentvillas

They Have been in business  for almost 30 years so they must be doing something Good

 

Just to  add, the last time we used this site, we stayed at  this place  and i can confirm, It was as good as it looks  in the pictures, The staff locally were  really helpful

This is NOT a sponsored Blog, Simply My opinions

does premium price assure quality of service…..

Whilst staying at Center Parcs in Elveden. Me and the family had what I can only describe as an experience of the worst customer service I have seen in a long time. I have full details of who said what…and when. Is it right to name and shame…..also the good things that happened